Congratulations to Tasmania’s 2021 STEM leaders

Tasmania’s top STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) practitioners have been named as winners of the 2021 Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards.

The Tasmanian STEM Awards acknowledge our local scientific achievers and inspire others by showcasing innovative achievements across the core fields of study and research.

This year, Professor Matt King from the University of Tasmania was awarded the Premier’s Tasmanian STEM Researcher of the Year prize for his outstanding and sustained research of Earth’s changing shape, rotation and gravity field, in particular the global water cycle.

Dr Cayne Layton from the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies received the Tasmanian Young STEM Researcher of the Year award for his research into kelp ecology and marine habitat restoration.

Dr Niamh Chapman from the Menzies Institute for Medical Research and Founding Director and host of Now that’s what I call Science! was awarded the Tasmanian STEM Communicator of the Year award for her advocacy shifting the stereotype of what it means to work in STEM.

Daniel Edwards of Montello Primary School, and Susan Bowler of Rose Bay High School, received the Tasmanian STEM Primary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year awards respectively, for their use of innovative and creative approaches to extend and inspire their students understanding of STEM inquiry.

The 2021 Minister’s STEM Innovation of the Year Award was awarded to Jay-Nik Pty Ltd for their Drop & LockTM syringe, developed to improve syringe labelling and traceability for medication ampoules and vials.

The 2021 Tasmanian STEM Awards highlight the importance of STEM, not only in our internationally recognised research organisations, but across our community and economy and remind us that science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are a crucial part of Tasmania’s bright future.

As a further acknowledgment of the outstanding contribution to extending Tasmania’s research capacity and capability, award recipients share in a prize pool of $30,000.

The Tasmanian STEM Awards are supported by the Tasmanian Liberal Government, Inspiring Australia and the University of Tasmania.

Please contact us if you would like an interview with any of the recipients.

Media release via Department of Premier and Cabinet.