Winners of the 2019 Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards announced

Tasmania’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) leaders have been celebrated at the fourth annual Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards today.

The Tasmanian STEM Awards acknowledge our local scientific achievers and inspire others by showcasing innovative achievements across the core fields of study and research.

This year Dr Stephen R. Rintoul from CSIRO was awarded the Premier’s Tasmanian STEM Researcher of the Year prize for his pioneering work on climate research in the Southern Ocean.

Dr Carlie Cullen from the Menzies Institute for Medical Research received the Tasmanian Young STEM Researcher of the Year award with her research into Multiple Sclerosis.

2019 winners

Dr Lila Landowski from the University of Tasmania was awarded the Tasmanian STEM Communicator of the Year award for her outstanding science advocacy via radio and social media.

Kristy Tidey of Invermay Primary School, and Madiyantika Varma of Launceston College, received the Tasmanian STEM Primary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year awards respectively, for inspiring their students through STEM inquiry. 

The 2019 Minister’s STEM Innovation of the Year Award was awarded to Australian Seafood Industries which led the te Tasmanian oyster industry’s recovery from the Pacific Oyster Mortality Syndrome (POMS) outbreak in an internationally unprecedented timeframe.

The 2019 Tasmanian STEM Awards clearly reflect the quality and capability of our science, technology, engineering and mathematics professionals, communicators and educators, particularly their deep connection with the community and its future. 

The Tasmanian STEM Awards are supported by the Tasmanian Government, Inspiring Australia and the University of Tasmania.

For more information on the Tasmanian STEM Awards or winners contact Sarah Bayne at the University of Tasmania 0419 472 539 or at 

This is a copy of the Tasmanian Government’s media release.